Shawnee State News
News Photo
Baseball - Thu, Jun. 6, 2013

2013 Gene Bennett Schedule

PORTSMOUTH - The fourth annual Gene Bennett Classic is set for Thursday, June 13 through Sunday, June 16. Once again, Shawnee State University will serve as the official host of the classic which is designed to bring a high quality baseball showcase back to Scioto County.

In addition to games at Branch Rickey Park – the home of the Shawnee State Bears baseball team, Portsmouth High School's Hatcher Field, Portsmouth West High School and Wheelersburg High School will also host games during the tournament. A total of 13 teams will play a combined 39 games over the four-day event with the semifinals and championship game slated for Sunday, June 16 at 10 a.m. and 1 p.m., respectively.

Participating in this year's classic are the Midland Redskins from Cincinnati whose former players include Ken Griffey, Jr., Mike Matheny and Barry Larkin; the Ohio Warhawks, whose former players include Pat Burrell, Brian Roberts and Brandon Phillips;Portsmouth Post 23, whose former players include Al Oliver, Larry Hisle, Gene Tenace, and Josh Newmam; the Huntington Hounds, of Huntington, W. Va., directed by Jon and Tim Adkin and the Springfield Armaloy, coached by former Urbana Head Coach Al Fulk. Bullett Baseball Academy, Dayton Classics, Kentucky Colonels, KBC 16 Goins, KBC 17 Coffman, Midwest Pelicans and the Ohio Yankees will also compete in this year's tournament.

The Gene Bennett Classic is named in honor of Scioto County resident and longtime Cincinnati Reds scout Gene Bennett. Bennett officially retired from the Reds before the 2011 season after 58 years with the organization. Some of Bennett's most notable signings while a scout with the Reds include Don Gullett, Barry Larkin, Chris Sabo, Jeff Russell, Charlie Leibrandt and Paul O'Neill. He also served 19 seasons as a senior special assistant to the general manager of the Reds before his retirement.

A complete schedule of the 2013 Gene Bennett Classic can be found online here.